Job Cancellation

Deleting a job

To cancel a job, use scancel. You need the running or pending jobid. It is only the job's owner and SLURM administrators that can cancel jobs.
$ scancel <jobid>

To cancel all your jobs (running and pending) you can run

$ scancel -u <username>

You get the job id when you submit the job.

$ sbatch -N 1 -n 4 submitfile
Submitted batch job 173079
$ scancel 173079

Or through squeue

$ squeue -u <username>

Alternatively, you can cancel a job submitted by srun or in an interactive shell, with salloc, by pressing Ctrl-C. In the example below, we have asked to start an interactive job, which we then cancel during waiting.

$ salloc -N 2 -n 4
salloc: Pending job allocation 779
salloc: job 779 queued and waiting for resources
^Csalloc: Job allocation 779 has been revoked.
salloc: Job aborted due to signal

Note Do not kill/skill srun to cancel a SLURM job! Doing so only terminates srun. The tasks continue to run, but not under SLURM management. If you do kill/skill an srun job, you can use squeue to get the job id and then either scancel the job, or use srun -p <partition> -a <jobid> -j, to reattach srun to the job and then you can use Ctrl-C to cancel it.

Updated: 2017-07-21, 11:43